Carols by Candlelight

One thing that took awhile to figure out when I moved to Dakar was…were to go to church. I visited some Senegalese churches mostly for cultural immersion, especially since they were in French. Some Sunday’s I stayed home and listen to my pastor’s message online or watched a sermon. A handful of times I went to church a Dakar Academy (Christian school for missionary kids and international students) just a short walk from my house.

But there was one church that after being there a few times I started to feel comfortable, International Christian Fellowship. It’s a church full of people from all over the world who are in Dakar for a dozen different reasons, but are all looking for a place to worship God.

I can’t say that I feel super connected there yet, but I like the fact that everyone is very friendly and genuine. My hope is to push myself to get involved in small ways and start to get to know more people. But for now, I’m very thankful to have a church that is involved in reaching out to the people in this city!

Tonight I enjoyed an evening of singing Christmas carols with this new church family. Although it’s December in some ways it felt more like the 4th of July…everyone sitting on blankets and wearing their sandals. (Even though it was in the mid-70’s I was feeling quite cool.) It was a special evening and beautiful to be a part of an outdoor candlelight service (keeping the candles lit proved to be quite tricky). I will still miss being a part of the Christmas Eve service at home this year, but I’m thankful for new experiences!

2 thoughts on “Carols by Candlelight

Leave a Reply

