Beautiful Lengths

Ever since I’ve been little my Mom and I have had this contest to see whose hair is longer…

It started when I was around 6 years old; two of my friends got their hair cut…and it was very short.  My Mom and Dad really didn’t want my hair that short, but I thought I really did want it cut like their’s.  So…my Mom decided to make it into a contest.  My hair was longer then her’s, but if I got it cut she would be winning!   The funniest thing about this story is that it worked!  I gave up my desire to cut my hair and didn’t get my first real haircut until I was 10.  In the many years since then my Mom and I have kept up our little competition (although it’s been mainly just for fun)!

As I have been preparing to leave for Senegal one thing on my to-do list has been to get a hair cut and not just a few inches.  A few months back I asked my Mom and my sister-in-law if they would be interested in us all cutting our hair together and donating it to “Locks of Love”.   They said, “yes”!  Once our hair is cut none of us will get it cut again until I come back from Senegal.

When they both said, “yes”, I looked up “Locks of Love” online to find out their requirements.  What I found was enough for me to look for other places to donate our hair…

So after doing some research we decided to donate our hair to Pantene’s “Beautiful Lengths”.  I was very comfortable with their mission and reputation.  Here’s some info from their website

Beautiful Lengths is a partnership between Pantene® and the American Cancer Society®, the largest nonprofit health organization committed to saving lives from every cancer and improving the quality of life for people facing the disease. The role of Pantene is to help women grow long, strong*, beautiful hair and provide the funds to turn this hair into free, real-hair wigs for women with cancer. So far, Pantene has donated 24,000 free real-hair wigs to the American Cancer Society’s wig banks, which distribute wigs to cancer patients across the country. To see if you are eligible to receive a free wig or if there are wigs available in your area, please call the American Cancer Society’s Wig Bank Line at 1-877-227-1596.

Here are pictures of our pre-cut hair:

IMG_3694

mom

jen

Here are the new looks:

101_2087101_2093101_2104

IMG952014021195161149 IMG_20140211_164422 IMG_20140211_170843

101_2090101_2111101_2109

So far I am really loving my new hair and I’ve been having fun trying new things that didn’t work with long hair!

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Lengths

  1. For some reason, it would show me the photos of your Mom! But yours and Jenny’s look great– and still SO much hair left even with such a drastic cut! I love the solidarity of none of you cutting it again til you return from Senegal!

    Enjoy the fun of new hairstyles 🙂 I’m due a new, shorter style again next time I see my sister 😉

    • Hi Leah! Thanks for letting me know about the pictures that aren’t showing up…my Mom said the same thing about when she brings up the post. I’ll have to see if it can be fixed! You will have to post a picture of your hair…it would be fun to see it!

Leave a Reply

