Leaving on a jet plane…

Google images

Today a missionary friend posted a link to an article on Facebook, it was titled “You Take Yourself With You (And Other Important Things About Living Overseas)”.  The author did a great job on being transparent about what it’s like being a missionary, it’s not as glamorous as we sometimes imagine.  Even those of us who know it’s hard and have heard the real life stories tend to view a missionary’s life through rose colored glasses.

I wanted to share this with all of you so that you might have a window into what I will be facing in the not so distant future.  I know many of you are already praying for me…thank you! I hope this gives you fresh insight into how to pray for me and for other missionaries you know.

You Take Yourself With You (And Other Important Things About Living Overseas)

The call from the American University in Cairo came on a Sunday morning, a business day in the Middle East. I had worked the night shift as a nurse and arrived home in time to eat breakfast and  hug my husband and three children, sending them on their way to church while I got much needed sleep.

As I lay on my bed in the warmth of that August morning, the phone rang. It was an administrator from the American University in Cairo. I don’t remember much about that phone call but her final words to me were these: “Tell your husband that his future at the American University in Cairo looks very promising”

Two weeks later we were in Cairo with our youth, our passion, and our three little ones. 

And that’s when it got hard. Because there are some important things that we didn’t realize when we were on one side of the pond – the side where churches applauded us and raised prayers on our behalf; the side where Christian fellowship was easy to find and when I was tired I could open up a box of macaroni and cheese for dinner.

Here are some of the things I learned as I unpacked my bags and hung my heart.

Click here to read the whole article…

Leave a Reply

