Homemade Egg Noodles

Beef and noodles.

It doesn’t sound like anything too amazing…but when those noodles are homemade it’s a perfect winter meal!  The first time I tried this amazing dish was 3 or 4 years ago, thanks to a very dear friend.  A few weeks later, I knew I had to try my hand at making homemade egg noodles myself.  So I called my friend for her recipe…well, there really wasn’t a recipe.  She just said break some eggs in a bowl, add a little water, salt and enough flour to form a soft dough.  So that’s what I did.  It’s surprisingly much easier than you may think!

101_1987

Step 1 – Crack eggs into a large bowl. I used 8 eggs, but you could use more or less, depending how many noodles you want in the end.

101_1988

Step 2 – Add salt and water. Salt: I used about 1/2 tsp of salt, but they were a little bland (that’s what happens sometimes when you don’t use a recipe). Next time I think I would use a 1 tsp. Water: I used about 1/2 cup.

101_1989

Step 3 – This is an easy one…whisk!

101_1990

Step 4 – Add flour. I think I put in 3 cups before taking this picture. Sorry, it’s been about a month since I actually made this batch of noodles.

101_1991

Step 5 – Using a sturdy spoon (I prefer wooden spoons) begin to incorporate the eggs and flour. As you can see, the dough is still quite sticky. Continue adding more flour at 1/2 cup at a time.

101_1993

Step 6 – Knead in any more flour you may need to have a soft, but not sticky dough. Then I split the dough into manageable sizes for rolling out.

101_1995

Step 7 – On a well floured surface, with a floured rolling-pin, roll your dough out fairly thin about 1/8″ – 1/4″. (The noodles will expand as the cook.)

101_1997

Step 8 – Cut the noodles. The easiest way to do this is with a pizza cutter…my Mom taught me that! You can cut them whatever size you want them, it might differ depending on what you are using them for.

101_1998

After they are cut I put them on a cookie sheet or plate with extra flour on it and toss them in the flour so that they don’t stick together.

101_2000

Ok, so this time I was making turkey and noodles. Not as good as beef or venison, but still good. So, before adding the noodles to the turkey broth I had it boiling in the oven (I think the oven was set at 425*) and then carefully began adding noodles to it. I had also seasoned the broth with celery salt and pepper, you could also add any vegetables you might want at this time. After the broth and noodles begin to simmer again turn oven down to 375* and bake, stirring occasionally, for 30 – 60 minutes.

101_2003

Here is the end result…

So if you are the type of person who likes very clear directions…I’m sorry.  I know there was a lack of specifics in this recipe, but that is the way my Mom and I cook much of the time.  So, I don’t actually have a written recipe for these noodles.  As a side note – if you have more noodles then you need at one time, stick the extras in the freezer (leave them on the cookie sheet with the extra flour).  After they are frozen, put them in a freezer bag and back in the freezer for some other time!

If you try this “recipe” I would love to hear how it works for you.  Or, if you have a question, feel free to ask and I’ll try to respond quickly.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Egg Noodles

Leave a Reply

