After many years of trying to perfect our pizza crust my Mom and I finally hit upon a perfect recipe a few years back!  Now, I can’t claim that this crust is healthy but…pizza isn’t suppose to be healthy is it?  In the past we have tried to add in whole wheat, wheat germ, garlic powder, basil, etc.  But keeping it simple seems to be the best option it allows the full flavor of the toppings to shine through.

100_1653

Last week I got the chance to have my dear friend Leah and her new husband over for lunch.  It was a great chance to catch up with her and get to know the love of her life better!  She is really quite the woman of God and we always have such a nice time visiting…although our visits can be very few and far between. (If you want to you can check out her photography…a great new undertaking!)

It had been a long time since I had made pizza and I decided it would make a perfect lunch for my guests.  To help the lunch seem special I decided against the traditional pepperoni, sausage, or supreme pizza.  Instead, I opted for an elegant (Can I call pizza elegant?) chicken-bacon-broccoli pizza with an Alfredo sauce and a BBQ beef pizza.

I hope you will give this homemade pizza a try and enjoy it as much as my family and I do!

Ok, ok!  I know you are all saying, “When is she going to stop talking and give us the recipe?”  So, here is it.

Easy Pizza Crust

4 cups all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp yeast

1 Tbsp sugar (or other sweetener)

1 tsp salt

2 cups of hot water (Hotter than lukewarm, but not too hot…it will kill the yeast.)

1 Tbsp oil (vegetable, olive, whatever)

– Mix together 2 cups of flour, yeast, sugar, and salt. Then add hot water and thoroughly mix.

– Next add the rest of the flour a 1/2 cup at a time mixing as you go. At the end use your hands to knead in remaining flour, then form into a ball.  Dough may still be sticky, but that’s okay it’s what gives this pizza a nice soft crust.

– Pour the oil on top of your dough, roll to cover.  Cover with a tea towel and place in a warm place to rise.

– Let rise for around 20 minutes, in the winter months it may take 30 minutes.

– Punch down dough and split evenly into two balls.  Form dough until it reaches your desired thickness…I use my hands for this part, but my Mom prefers using a rolling-pin.

– Now have fun and top with all your family favorites!

Bake @ 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes

100_1635

Isn’t it cute how the yeast made a heart!

100_1638

Make sure to mix thoroughly!

100_1640

Begin adding in the extra flour.

100_1642

Pour oil onto your dough – make sure to coat all the dough and the bowl.

100_1643

Here’s the dough split equally.

100_1644

All ready for toppings!

100_1646

Pizza #1 with Alfredo sauce and parsley.

100_1649

Pizza #1 with chicken, bacon, and broccoli added…all it needs now is cheese!

100_1654

We each enjoyed a piece of this marvelous pizza!

100_1650

Pizza #2 is so simple – I just fried up a pound of ground beef and added barbecue sauce at the end.

100_1652

Pizza #2 I topped the meat with cheddar and mozzarella. I was amazing!

This recipe for crust can be used for many great meals!  Try making bread-sticks, pizza pockets, or easy dinner rolls (just remember the baking time may be different)!!

I would love to hear if you try this recipe and what you think of it!

World’s Best Homemade Pizza

Leave a Reply

