Homemade Soft Pretzels

100_1222

I LOVE SOFT PRETZELS!  This love was passed down to me from my mom, who had her first pretzel on a trip to the mall with her dad when she was young.  My brothers and I have enjoyed soft pretzels with nacho cheese for as long as I can remember and now our love of pretzels has been pass on to my niece.

In the past we bought frozen pretzel from the supermarket.  But in recent years we have been making our own, originally because soft pretzels got expensive, but eating homemade pretzels has spoiled us.  Now when I happen to eat a store-bought soft pretzel, I can’t help but notice the lack of flavor and texture.  So today I want to share my pretzel recipe with you!  They are simple and fun to make.  I like to make a double batch and freeze some, they  reheat very well.

Oh, and you will be proud of me, I took pictures of the process to share with you!

Soft Pretzels

Yield: 12 pretzels

1 Tbsp yeast
1 1/2 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups hot water
3 Tbsp oil
4-5 cups flour
—–
6 cups water
1/4 cup baking soda

In a large bowl mix together yeast, sugar, salt and 3 cups of the flour. Then mix in the water and oil. Once thourghly combined add more flour to form a smooth soft dough. Knead for 3-5 minutes. Cover with a clean towel and place in a warm, draft free spot and let rise until doubled in size (about 30 minutes).
While your dough is rising bring the water and baking soda to a boil. Then turn down to low until after your pretzels are formed.
Cut dough into 12 equal pieces. On a counter roll pieces into a long rope, then twist into a pretzel shape. Place on a parchment paper lined pan. Continue to roll and shape the rest of your pieces.
This next step is my favorite part! Bring your water back to a boil, I keep the temp between medium and med-high. Gently place pretzels in water, my pot holds 3 pretzels at a time, boil for 30 seconds. Then flip them over and boil for 15 seconds. Remove from water and return to the pan, sprinkle with coarse pretzel salt. Finish boiling and salting pretzels.
Bake @ 475* for 10 minutes. Brush with melted butter and return to oven for 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Grab a some family or friends and enjoy!

100_1216

100_1217

100_1218
100_1220
100_1222
I loved the way this last picture turned out! We had a beautiful, sunny winter day here in Northern Minnesota!

7 thoughts on “Homemade Soft Pretzels

  1. Pingback: Just relaxing | Trust for the Journey

  2. Pingback: Old News | Trust for the Journey

Leave a Reply

